PDP Postpones Primary Election In Four States


The scheduled primary election of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in four states of Nigeria has been postponed till further notice. According to PDP, it was postponing the elections in the four states due to some “unforeseen circumstances.”

The states as contained in the letter forwarded to the Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Mahmood Yakubu includes, Ekiti, Niger, Sokoto and Taraba State.

The letter reads: “Re: Re: Year 2020 Party Congresses in 26 ( Twenty Six) Chapters of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Postponement of Party Congresses in Ekiti, Niger, Sokoto and Taraba States,” signed by the PDP National Chairman, Uche Secondus and National Secretary, Senator Umar Tsauri was forwarded to the commission on Monday, July 27th.

READ:  PDP Demands Buhari's Resignation

The letter which copy was made available to newsmen on Tuesday night reads; “Please refer to our earlier letter with reference No: PDP/DOM CF. 2/VolIC/20-094, in which we informed the Commission (INEC) of our Time table and schedule of activities for the completion of the outstanding congresses of our party.”

“Due to unforeseen circumstances, we are compelled to postpone our planned congresses in the aforementioned states. We will communicate to the commission as soon as a new date is fixed.”


READ:  Nigeria Police Uncover Weapons In Delta Church


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here