KOGI ELECTION PETITION: Supreme Court Affirms Yahaya Bello As Kogi Governor


A seven-man panel of the court led by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Muhammad, has upheld the election of Yahaya Bello as the Governor of Kogi State.

The declaration was made in two judgments dismissing the separate appeals filed by the Peoples Democratic Party and the Socialist Democratic Party.

Other members of the panel include Justices Olabode Rhodes-Vivour, Sylvester Ngwuta, Kudirat Kekere-Ekun, Inyang Okoro, Amina Augie, Uwani Abba-Aji.

READ:  60% Of NDDC Contracts Goes To Lawmakers-Akpabio Alleges

In its Judgement delivered on Monday, the Apex Court disagreed with the appeal filed on five grounds by the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Kogi Governorship Election, Musa Wada.

Mr Wada claimed that the election held on November 16, 2019, was riddled with serious electoral infractions; rigging and over-voting, and that Governor Bello didn’t secure the highest vote.

Mr Wada approached the Supreme Court after his petition was dismissed by the Court of Appeal on July 4th, 2020 with a split decision of two to one.

READ:  Court Orders Kalu's Release

Resolving all the five issues in favour of Bello, his party, the APC, and the Independent National Electoral Commission, the apex court declared the appellants’ appeal as lacking in merit.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) returned Bello as the duly elected governor on November 18, 2019, having scored the highest number of votes in the poll.

He gota total of 406,222 votes to beat his closest rival, Wada who scored 189,704 votes and Akpoti who garnered a total of 9,482 votes.

READ:  ENDSARS: LCC Ready To Show Footage Of Lekki Shooting


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here